Airedale Academy

Airedale Academy

Principal: Mrs Elizabeth Fairhurst

Tel: 01977 664555

Fax: 01977 664556


Airedale Academy is operated by Airedale Academies Trust, an exempt charity and
a company limited by guarantee. Registered in England and Wales, No: 07556117

Registered Office: Airedale Academy, Crewe Road, Castleford, West Yorkshire, WF10 3JU Tel: 01977 664555

Child Protection: Senior Designated Person - Mrs C Eastwood

Academy Mentors

Learning Mentors are part of a dedicated team supporting the emotional health and wellbeing of our students. Their role is to work with young people who have barriers to learning such as family difficulties, problems in school, low self confidence or bereavement. We understand that a young person’s ability to learn is improved, when they are able to cope with any difficulties they might face and it is the learning mentors role in school to guide and support our students wherever possible.

There are many reasons students access these services. Some visit our mentors for regular appointments; others drop in at lunch and break time to discuss any problems or worries. The mentors help in the transition of pupils from primary to secondary school, but also recognise the importance of supporting all students in transition from year to year.

We have a dedicated Pod area where students can come to discuss any problems that they may have and a behaviour for learning area for students to deal with any behaviour issues they may be experiencing within lessons. We also offer support through anger and behaviour management programmes to enable young people to achieve and succeed in school.

Parents and carers are an important part of the mentors role within the academy as they support families as well as individuals. If you have any questions or would like to speak to a learning mentor please do not hesitate to contact them.

Mr B Holder - Behaviour Manager

Mr I Tansley - Behaviour Mentor

Mr K Gaitley - Behaviour Mentor

Mrs C Robinson - Behaviour Mentor

Mrs K Kershaw - Student Mentor

Mrs A Jones - Student Mentor

Ms S Parker - Education Welfare Officer

Mrs T Heptinstall - KS4 Mentor